

News Release

2019 IOWA FFA AG BROADCASTING CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT

91st Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

AMES, IA - The Iowa FFA Ag Broadcasting Leadership Event was held at Iowa State University, Ames, on Monday, April 15, 2019. Twelve individuals participated in this year's Career Development Event (CDE). The first place individual for the event was Karli Recker from the Monticello FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Eric Schmitt. The second place individual for the event was Jocelyn Boynton from the Muscatine FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructors and FFA advisors are Mr. Sam Paul, Mr. Dave Tometich, and Ms Ashley Wiebe.

Members participating in this event present a five-minute broadcast as if they were a farm director or reporter for a radio station. This event is intended to foster an understanding and create an interest in the field of broadcast journalism. The Iowa FFA Ag Broadcasting CDE was made possible with support from the Iowa Broadcaster's Association Foundation through the Iowa FFA Foundation.

The results from the Ag Broadcasting CDE are listed below.

###

About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 15,400 student members as part of 242 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.

Place	e FFA Member Name(s)	Chapter P. O.	Rating
1	Karli Recker	Monticello	Gold
2	Jocelyn Boynton	Muscatine	Gold
3	Abby Klostermann	Dyersville	Gold
	Macy Landt	State Center	Gold
	Anna Campbell	Audubon	Silver
	Grant Hoogendoorn	Inwood	Silver
	Mikayla Fjeld	Iowa Falls	Silver

Iowa FFA Association -- 2

Alexa McCunn	Red Oak	Silver
Eric Van Veldhuizen	Rock Valley	Silver
Anna Lopez	Bussey	Bronze
Rebecca Gomez	Grimes	Bronze
Lane Stender	Maquoketa	Bronze